Reading EggspressWhere reading is just part of the adventure

Lessons Overview

My Lessons

Children learn a range of comprehension strategies that enable them to access increasingly difficult and challenging literature and nonfiction texts. The 220 comprehension lessons cover grade 1 to 6. Children can start by completing a placement test which places them at an appropriate level within the program. Each lesson has 5 or 6 pre-reading activities that build comprehension strategies, then an extract is read, followed by a 10- or 16-question comprehension quiz.

Read more about the comprehension lessons
Comprehension lesson details

English Skills

The NEW English Skills section includes 216 spelling lessons, with another 120 grammar lessons set to be released in 2016. The new spelling lessons teach children to spell while improving reading, writing and comprehension skills, using a combination of videos, interactive activities, rewards-based games, and 432 printable worksheets (2 per lesson). The lessons cover grades 1 to 6, and focus on common spelling rules, generalizations and strategies, ending with an assessment test. The program includes a variety of instructional strategies including visual memory, definitions, word families, word sorts and proofreading with differentiated word lists. The adaptive lessons allow children to progress through three levels of difficulty.

Read more about the spelling lessons

The Stadium

Children practice their spelling, grammar and vocabulary fluency in timed games against different opponents from around the world. Children enter a virtual stadium atmosphere where their avatars become athletes. Leader boards show running totals for all competitions and these refresh every week. Children are automatically set to play at their grade level, with two levels of difficulty at each grade.

There are four events – Spelling Sprint, Grammar Skating, Vocabulary Pursuit and Freestyle Usage with hundreds of questions at each grade level to ensure children are flexing their language muscles in different ways.


The Reading Eggspress library has more than 2000 reading levelled and Lexile levelled books for reading ages 5 to 12+ years. The wide range of library titles include illustrated chapter books, full color nonfiction books and a range of classics.

Shorter, easier books, include a quiz at the end of the title, to ensure comprehension of the text. These early titles have a 5 or 10 question quiz, which when completed earns the child golden eggs and trading cards.

The chapter books in the library have a 6-question quiz presented at the end of each chapter. Completing chapter quizzes earns children golden eggs, with trading cards awarded when a child has completed every chapter and shown comprehension of each title.