Reading EggspressWhere reading is just part of the adventure


Reading Eggspress Comprehension for Grades 2 to 6

Students learn a range of comprehension strategies that enable them to access increasingly difficult and challenging literature and nonfiction texts.

Studies have shown that teaching reading comprehension strategies gives students the tools they need to become proficient independent readers. These reading strategies help students understand the increasingly complex and challenging texts they encounter in texts across the curriculum.

Research demonstrates that when primary grade students receive optimal comprehension instruction, their performances on measures of literal, inferential, and metacognitive comprehension increase, as do their vocabulary; decoding, problem-solving, and cooperative learning skills; and self-esteem (Ness, 2011).

The Reading Eggspress Comprehension program is a comprehensive strategic reading program. It contains 220 lessons from grade 1 to upper grade 6 that use a balance of fiction and nonfiction texts. The lessons are organized in a systematic and progressive format with a sequence of 5-lesson maps. The program focuses on literal, inferential and critical reading comprehension questions for skill building and metacognitive understanding. The questions address key areas in comprehension - main idea and details; compare and contrast; making connections; sequencing events; cause and effect; understanding character; drawing conclusions; predicting; summarising; fact and opinion; point of view; and word study. Each skill is repeated many times to build each student’s ability to transfer these skills and for them to become an integral part of their repertoire of their reading comprehension skills. The program also promotes the beneficial learning outcomes that occur from sustained reading of whole texts, with students reading 8 complete books as part of each grade’s module. Progressive assessment occurs at the completion of every 5 lessons using independently leveled passages.

  • Sequential lessons use a balance of carefully leveled literature and nonfiction texts. The lessons gradually increase in both the complexity of the texts that students read and the depth of comprehension required.
  • Assessment tasks use independently leveled passages and appear in a similar format to Common Core online tests. Two-part assessment questions require students to find evidence in the text to support their answers.
  • Supports students of all abilities through carefully leveled lessons that begin at a grade 1 level.
  • Comprehensive student and class reports show student progress over time.

Comprehension Program Components

  • 220 lessons across grades 1 – 6, with 40 lessons per grade (20 in Grade 1).
  • 44 complete books and 44 Assessment tests

Comprehension lessons for Grades 1 to 6

MAP 1 Literature Fiction Lessons 1- 5. Reading Levels 8 – 10, Lexiles: 200L – 270L

FICTION MAP 1 FOCUS BOOK: That bear is back Level 10, 250L

Lesson Text Level Comprehension strategy focus
1 Worm Surfing 9, 230L Think marks and Word study
2 The Gwibber 9, 240L The Main idea
3 Crocodile in the kitchen 9, 240L Literal questions
4 Runaway Circus 10, 260L Sequencing events
5 Larkin St Emergency  10, 270L Visualise and Main idea

Fiction Assessment: Max Visits a Farm Level 7, 180L

Lessons by grade PDFs

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 1

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 2

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 3

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 4

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 5

Comprehension Lessons - Grade 6

Scientific Research Base

Download the Reading Eggspress Comprehension Program Scientific Research Base PDF.